Free Speech Alert

Says The Ezra:

http://ezralevant.com/2009/02/ignatieff-campaign-files-5mill.html

….I haven’t asked for any help with my legal funds in two months, but I regret that Kinsella’s new lawsuit does require me to incur more expenses – a statement of defence right away, likely some preliminary motions, and then the meticulous work of discoveries. Discoveries themselves could top $20,000 and a trial – which could take the better part of a week – could add $50,000 more.

Would you please help me out?

I think it’s important to beat Kinsella’s suit for four reasons:

1. It’s the right thing to do, to stand up to bullies who would try to silence political debate through libel chill.

2. If Kinsella sues over his involvement with the Canadian Islamic Congress, and Adscam, then it’s an important opportunity to properly grill him on his conduct, for the public record.

3. If I don’t fight him, Ignatieff’s Liberal campaign will be one step closer to silencing other journalists’ questions out of fear, just like Kinsella has threatened bloggers into silence before.

4. Kinsella jumped into this fight because of his opposition to our campaign for freedom of expression, and his disagreements with me over everything from radical Islam to Adscam. He is using this lawsuit to pre-empt and foreclose on those substantive debates, by trying to gag me instead. That’s just not the Canadian way.

We’ve already beaten Kinsella in the court of public opinion. Now let’s beat him in the court of law. If you can help me, please do.

If you can chip in by PayPal, please click on the button below. If you’d prefer to send in a cheque by snail mail, that’s fine. Please make cheques payable to:

“Christopher Ashby in Trust”

Attn: Ezra Levant defence fund

Suite 1013

8 King Street East

Toronto ON M5C 1B5

Thank you very much. With your help, I promise to fight this battle all the way to the end.

“I am not a registered non-profit organization.  Donations are not tax deductible for federal income tax purposes.”

The economy is hurting.. but now’s the time we need to help Ezra in this major case, to help him continue his work, to defend his family, and his free-speech wars on our behalf.

Binks

One thought on “Free Speech Alert

  1. You have my total support. I am forwarding the web site to everyone in my address book. In all likelihood we all will be faced with these same threats. I have read the Qur’an’s numerous interpretations including those Sanitized versions for Western read.
    I am on a fixed income but will do everything within my capabilities to support you to the extent of writing Congress and anyone else who will listen..
    In empathy I remain,

Leave a Reply

