How Binks Thinks

Milwaukee-Car-Accident-Attorney

~ ITEM: NCIS Season 4, episode 11 — ‘Driven’

~ ITEM: Spring-assisted Rescue Knife on eBay

~ TWO RECENT things– one on TV, the other in non-cyberwebspace, reminded me of the mad skills given to me by my Dad, by the Scouts, by reading, and a little preventative thinking.

Trying To Kill You

The first? A careless van-driver in front of me who suddenly stopped in front of me (without signalling or checking his rearview), and proceeded to back up. Brain, in 1 second: “reverse, then honk”– 2 seconds later, I’m backing away from his approaching rear, three seconds later I lay on the horn. He gave me the “How dare you upset me as I try to do multiple-thousands of dollars of damage to your vehicle?” dirty look and related language. I drive off, rolling my eyes.

I blame my family, whose rule (drummed into me with every driving lesson, and proven too many times to name): They Are All Trying To Kill You. Even The Pedestrians. Try it– it focusses the mind wonderfully. I and countless passengers would now be roadkill statistics were I not operating a vehicle (or walking) as if They Were All Out To Get Me.

Silly Dead Lady

ottokar

In the NCIS TV-episode from season 4 ‘Driven’, a woman is trapped in a robotic car by someone’s evil programming, and suffocated by exhaust vented into the cabin of the vehicle. She deads, because the doors, windows, and seatbelt lock on her.

So there I sat watching the episode, and thinking about how to save myself if I were her, or save her if I were on scene. “Gee, glad that’s not me” is not an option.

Back To Basics

Carrying a simple rescue knife is basic self-and-other protection. With same, in case of an automobile crash, you can break a car window (use the point on the end, cover your hand with some cloth first, hit near a corner of the window in question, use the cloth-covered hand to crumble the rest of the safety-glass), cut your own or another’s seat-belt, and generally be much more likely to survive that and other straight-forward and common emergencies.

It’s a very very basic set of skills, and you can get a decent little rescue knife on eBay for about $20 (perfect for pocket, purse, jacket pocket, or belt). Why not get one for your vehicle, and one for each family member, friend, or neighbour, husband or wife? Christmas is coming.

There. Binks just saved more lives, if you read & do. The choice is up to you. ~

$_57

Leave a Reply

